Menu Close

The Regional Council of South Karelia

The Regional Council of South Karelia is a joint municipal authority of nine member municipalities. The Council operates as the authority for regional development and unit for regional planning. The Council also has a task to look after regional interests and to promote economic development and cultural well-being in South Karelia. The Council has a statutory responsibility for regional development and planning.

Assembly of the regional council

The assembly of the Regional Council has 31 members which are chosen by the community and city level councils. The assembly of the Regional Council has several meetings in a year. Chairman of the Assembly is Mr. Ari Torniainen who is a Member of the Parliament (the Center Party).

Board of the regional council

The board of the Regional Council meets every month, and it has nine members. Chairman of the Board, Mr. Jukka Kopra, is also a Member of the Parliament (the National Coalition Party), 1st Vice chairman of the Board is Ms. Suna Kymäläinen (SDP) from Ruokolahti (Imatra) and 2nd Vice chairman of the Board is Mr. Antti Rämä from Luumäki (the Center Party).


Kauppakatu 40 D, FI-53100 Lappeenranta
e-mail: ( ä > a, ö > o)

CBC programme office

Kauppakatu 40 D, FI-53100 Lappeenranta

Head of the office

Regional Mayor, Mr. Matti Viialainen
tel. +358 44 770 0515

Latest news from CBC-programme